Seong-Hyeon Kim addressed a penalty after the ball took 30 seconds to fall

by | Oct 18, 2021 | Golf Balls

Seong-Hyong Kim was born on Jan.

Photo Credit: Twitter – @PGATOUR Photo Credit: PGATOUR

Seong-Hyeon Kim addressed a penalty after the ball took 30 seconds to fall

This season we have seen many strange and controversial incidents with golf balls hanging over the hole.

At this year’s Solheim Cup, for example, Nelly Korda let her putt hang over the hole. When the American sank to her knees, her opponent Madelene Sagstrom threw the ball back.

As the game continued, a rules spokeswoman (Missy Jones) came to the players and explained that Korda’s ball should have been given 10 seconds on the lip to see if it would fall.

Since Sagstrom had only given seven seconds, it meant that she had broken rule 13.3a and the hole was given to the American team.

At this weekend’s CJ Cup, Seong-Hyeon Kim had a relatively short birdie putt in front of him. However, when the ball miraculously spun around the cup, it landed on the lip and eventually fell almost 30 seconds later.

Check out the video here.

A putt that will turn your head … especially if you wait until the end.

– PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) October 17, 2021

Apparently, the incident has been called into question, as most believed that the time for a putt had been well exceeded.

Eventually, after going to the marker’s tent, Kim was given a one-shot penalty for breaking rule 13.3a of the Rules of Golf.

The rule states: “The player is given a reasonable time to reach the hole and an additional ten seconds to wait for the ball to fall into the hole. If the ball falls into the hole during this waiting time, the player has holed with the previous stroke.

“If the ball does not fall into the hole during this waiting time: The ball is treated as resting. If the ball then falls into the hole before it is played, the player has holed the previous stroke, but receives a penalty stroke to add to the score for the hole. “