Take it to the bank

Take it to the bank

California Amateur: Take It To The Bank

One day after Christian Banke set a course record at The Preserve Golf Club with a much discussed 8-under-64, Christian Banke decided to raise the stake. On Tuesday, Banke became number 1 in that week’s California Amateur after hitting a record of 63 to finish the 36-hole stroke play qualifying portion of the event with 17 under 127. His score was six strokes better than anyone else in the field.

Number 2 for the match play, which begins Wednesday with the round of 32, will be the Junior Tour of Northern California alum Noah Woolsey. Woolsey finished second in stroke play qualification with 11-under after rounds of 67-66.

The last medalist to win the title was Geoff Gonzalez in 2009. In total, only 12 players ever became medalists.

The cutline for the match play was 3 under 141. Nine players will battle for eight spots in a playoff on Wednesday morning to fill the brackets.

The action on Thursday consists of the round of 16. Quarter-finals and semi-finals will be played on Friday. The 36-hole final will be held on Saturday.

Banke On It: A day after setting a record of 8 under 64 at The Preserve, Christian Banke went one stroke lower with a 63 to become a six-stroke medalist at the California Amateur with a 36-hole score of 17 under 127 – six strokes to win better than anyone else https://t.co/h1tch5z4fU pic.twitter.com/d8z6JFdMCl

– NCGA (@ ncga1901) June 23, 2021 In the North-South Challenge, in which six NCGA players compete annually against six SCGA players (best five of six results), the NCGA and captain Gary Fox won the Roger Lapham Trophy the SCGA with two strokes (702-704). Representing the NCGA were Noah Woolsey (66), Finigan Tilly (72), Thomas Hutchison (72), Lucas Carper (71), Drake Mendenhall (70) and 10-time NCGA champion Nick Moore (76). Team SCGA was represented by Devon Bling, Tommy Stephenson, Charlie Reiter, Steve Sugimoto, Caden Fioroni and Luke Potter.

A cut will be made after the second round on Tuesday, with the bottom 32 moving forward to match play.

The winner of the challenge will receive the Roger Lapham Cup.

The brackets will be set at the 110th California Amateur this week at The Preserve GC in Carmel Valley https://t.co/bqlnGVntDQ pic.twitter.com/mdXf3E7e5h

– NCGA (@ ncga1901) June 23, 2021 Via the California Amateur Championship
The California Amateur Championship is one of the oldest state amateur golf championships in the country and dates back to 1912 when the California Golf Association was founded. The California Amateur Championship was originally played at Del Monte GC but was moved to Pebble Beach Golf Links in 1919. The championship remained in Pebble Beach until 2006, with the exception of 2000, when it was held due to bayonet and Blackhorse GCs, the US Open will be held in Pebble Beach. In 2006, the championship began a new tradition of spinning on courses across the state alternating between Northern California and Southern California. The tournament has seen many top names including Ken Venturi in 1951, Johnny Miller in 1968, Bobby Clampett in 1978/1980, Duffy Waldorf in 1984 and Mark O’Meara in 1979. These include outstanding golfers who tried to win the title and failed Craig Stadler, Corey Pavin, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods. Woods reached the semifinals in 1994 before falling to Ed Cuff. The oldest champion remains Vern Callison, who won in 1967 at the age of 47. Mac Hunter is the youngest champion to win in 1972 at the age of 16.

Showing results for California Amateur

ABOUT THE California amateur

The championship is open to amateur golfers who have a current index of 4.4 and are full members of the Southern California Golf Association, the Northern California Golf Association, or the Public Links Golf Association of Southern California. Non-exempt players must qualify. An entrant may only participate in one qualifying tournament, even if the participant is a member of golf clubs in Southern California and Northern California. The 18-hole qualification rounds determine the qualification.

The championship field will play 36 qualifying holes in one location in Northern or Southern California, with the bottom 32 golfers moving from that combined field to match play (with a playoff if necessary to determine the final places). Two rounds of 18-hole match play follow on Thursday and Friday and the 36-hole final on Saturday.

The location will switch between locations in Northern and Southern California annually.

View full tournament information


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here