Metraux, Danielson Under 10 Earning LPGA Tour Tickets | News, sports, jobs

by | Oct 13, 2021 | LPGA

Photo by Dennis Grall Morgane Metraux puts a putt on the 17th green at Sweetgrass Golf Club on June 13 during the 10th Island Resort Championship on June 13 at Merit and a berth on the LPGA Tour in 2022.

ESCANABA – The youngest winner of the Island Resort Championship at Sweetgrass and a popular IRC contestant, is among 10 women to receive LPGA Tour tickets this year.

Morganne Metraux from Lausanne, Switzerland, used her Sweetgrass victory to secure a place on the LPGA Tour in 2022. Metraux finished 17 strokes under par at 199 and took her first Symetra Tour win on IRC.

The triumph was worth $ 30,000 and was a major contributor to her finishing ninth on the winning list at $ 94,188.

Metraux, a Florida State alum who missed 10 months of the 2019 season with a shoulder injury, also qualified for the LPGA Major at the Evian Classic in France, she said in June “is like my little girl’s dream.” She missed the cut on Evian.

Metraux sank birdie putts at holes 14 and 17 at Sweetgrass to top off their comeback after a three-stroke deficit after two rounds. She succeeded Maude-Aimee Leblanc of Quebec, who entered the finals on June 13th. Leblanc finished a stroke in Sweetgrass with 200.

Casey Danielson from Osceola, Wisconsin, who is advancing to the LPGA Tour, is also a three-time participant in the Island Resort Championship, finishing fourth in 2018, eighth in 2019 and 16 in 2021.

She said in an article in the Daily Press earlier this year that she was playing at Sweetgrass “Is a special feeling for me. It makes me feel like a local. “

Danielson finished third on the winning list that season for $ 114,534. She is a four-time Division 2 state champion at the WIAA state tournament and helped Stanford win the 2015 NCAA championship.

Danielson also won the Donald Ross Classic in French Lick, Indiana two weeks after the Sweetgrass event that year.

Another LPGA qualifier is Ruixin Liu, who won the Island Resort title in 2018. She finished fifth on the list of results.

At the top of the field of 10 qualifiers is Symetra Player of the Year Lillia Vu, followed by Fatimo Fernandez Cano.

Danielson came five strokes behind second-round leader Allison Emery – who is also an LPGA qualifier in eighth place – and four strokes behind Cano to defeat Cano in a two-hole playoff for her first Symetra win at the Symetra Classic Beat Davidson. NC

Sophia Schubert landed in fourth place on the list of results. Leblanc finished sixth, followed by Amanda Doherty, Emrey, Letraux and Rachel Rohanna.

Latest news and more in your inbox