The Preview: ShopRite LPGA Classic presented by Acer – Golf Australia Magazine – The Women’s Game

by | Sep 28, 2021 | LPGA

The then 33-year-old survived a tense final round fight with rising American star Jennifer Kupcho, a run of four birdies on a five-hole course in the middle of the final round that proved the difference.

TITLE DEFENSE: For the second time the event was played over 72 holes. Mel Reid finished the week at 19 under par, two in front of Jennifer Kupcho and three in front of Jennifer Song.

COURSE: the Golf club with sea views is home to two 18-hole courses, with the host of the tournament – the Bay Course – being viewed by most as the choice of the two.

TO THE RIGHT: Englishwoman Mel Reid finally won her first LPGA Tour title here in 2020. PHOTO: Michael Cohen / Getty Images.

Designed by Donald Ross in collaboration with Hugh Wilson, famous for Merion, the bay layout makes up for what it lacks in length with strategy and tricky green complexes.

Although best known for hosting this LPGA event in recent years, a composite Seaview course also hosted the first of Sam Snead’s seven big wins.

Snead defeated Jim Turnesa for the PGA title in 1942 when it was still match play, thanks to a 60-foot chip-in on the 35th hole of the final.

Short play will also be crucial for this week’s field, as the small greens mean a lot of chipping and pitching, combined with intricate internal contouring of the putting surfaces that emphasize spin and flight control. Speed ​​control with the putter will also be a bonus.

Wind almost always plays a role at Seaview due to its proximity to the Atlantic. Karrie Webb’s 2013 win was a memorable win in brutal conditions.

The Australian’s total winners of four under for the 54 holes is the highest in tournament history.

The front nine at Seaview is considered to be the more difficult of the two, the easier back nine generally make for exciting results of the tournament as the players are able to make an attack.

PRIZE MONEY: $ 1,750,000

PLAYERS TO WATCH: It will be a list of the usual suspects here as another strong field congregates for the penultimate regular seasonal event on US soil for the year.

Last week’s winner Nasa Hataoka could imagine their chances to come straight after a fourth place with the defending champions last year Mel Reid will be looking for some fond memories made from a missed cut last week.

Former winners Lexi Thompson (2019) and Stacy Lewis (2014) both start the week in good shape after finishing top 10 in Arkansas, but it’s runner-up last year, Jennifer Kupchowho will be the player to be seen.

Last year’s runner-up, Jennifer Kupcho, is in good lead this week. PHOTO: Charles McQuillan / Getty Images.

The 24-year-old hasn’t won his first LPGA title yet, but has done everything except since joining the tour in 2019.

As a former outstanding amateur and winner of the first Augusta National Women’s Amateur, she has already proven herself to be a consistent performance at a professional level with five top 10 finishes this season.

Their T16 finish in Arkansas last week came despite a disappointing finals that included two double boweys in a disappointing one-under-70.

This is an anomaly at this level and it is unlikely that Kupcho will repeat such mistakes on a course where she has such strong positive memories.

The windy conditions are conducive to their strong ball flight and in 10th place of the greens in the regulations category the small greens will favor one of their strengths.

72-hole record: Mel Reid set the scoring record for 72 holes last year with 19 out of a total of 265, while two Swedes, Anna Nordqvist (2016) and Annika Sorenstam (1998 & 2005) previously held the 54-hole mark of 196.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Karrie Webb (2013).

AUSTRALIA IN THE FIELD: Sarah Kemp, Katherine Kirk, Hannah Green, Su Oh, and Sarah Jane Smith.


Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3 a.m. – 5 a.m.)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3 a.m. – 6 a.m.)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 4 a.m. – 7 a.m.)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 4 a.m. – 7 a.m.)

* AEST / AEDT, check the local guides

© Golf Australia. All rights reserved.