Top LPGA Players Return to Belleair for Pelican Women’s Championship | Belleair

by | Oct 15, 2021 | LPGA

BELLEAIR – Bradenton’s No. 1 player and resident Nelly Korda, sister Jessica Korda, defending champion Sei Young Kim and fan favorites Brooke Henderson, Lydia Ko and Lexi Thompson are the headlines of a field of early engagements for the 2021 Pelican Women’s Championship, tournament officials announced at October known 14.

The last full-field event of the 2021 LPGA Tour season, the Pelican Women’s Championship, will take place November 8-14 at the Pelican Golf Club in Belleair.

Eleven of the top 20 players in the world are early participants in the Pelican Women’s Championship, including:

• Nelly Korda (1)

• Be Young Kim (4)

• Nasa Hataoka (7)

• Lydia Ko (8)

• Brooke Henderson (9)

• Danielle Kang (11)

• Patty Meetings (12)

• Lexi Thompson (13)

• Jeong Eun Lee (17)

• Jessica Korda (19)

• So Yeon Ryu (20)

The championship will be the last opportunity for players to qualify for the CME Group Tour Championship, which takes place in Naples the following week.

“We’re excited to welcome not only the world’s best female players back for the second year running, but also the passionate sports fan community of the Tampa Bay area to the Pelican Golf Club for the Pelican Women’s Championship for the first time,” said Marci Doyle, Pelican Women’s Championship Executive Director, in a press release.

Tournament officials will be announcing special additional events that will take place during the week in the coming weeks.

The Pelican Women’s Championship 2021 made its no-spectator debut in 2020 and welcomes fans to the Pelican Golf Club for the first time, with a field of 108 players covering 72 holes for a portion of the $ 1.75 million prize battle. Sei Young Kim won the first Pelican Women’s Championship of 2020 with three strokes at 14 under par, her 12th win on the LPGA Tour. The tournament will be played in the newly renovated Pelican Golf Club, designed by Donald Ross.

Tickets for the Pelican Women’s Championship 2021 are exclusively available online at