Shubhankar Sharma fires 66 and takes top 10 placement at the BMW PGA event

by | Sep 13, 2021 | PGA

Indian golfer Shubhankar Sharma fired a six-under-66, his best of the week, and finished ninth in the 2021 BMW PGA Championship.

After Sharma had finished the third round with four birdies in a row, Sharma had seven birdies against a single bogey on par-4 11. He screwed fourth, sixth, 10th, 12th, 13th, 16th and 18th place.

Sharma rose from 26th to 78th in the Race to Dubai rankings and is getting closer to his first goal of the top 60. In his five starts, Sharma had two top 10 finishes (T-9 and Cazoo and BMW PGA), two other top 20 finishes (T-16 at Hero Open and T-12 at Italian) and had only three over- Par rounds in 20th

American Billy Horschel did a stunning final birdie to fulfill one of his great golfing ambitions and won his first Rolex Series title at the BMW PGA Championship in 2021. The American watched the event on television as a child and fell in love with the Wentworth Golf Club when it made its top 5 debut two years ago.

The 34-year-old said he would take a win at the prestigious event in addition to winning the PLAYERS Championship, and he took a final round of 65 to finish under 19, beating Thailand’s Kiradech Aphibarnrat, home favorite Laurie Canter and the Welshman Jamie Donaldson by a shot.

ALSO READ | Shubhankar Sharma rises to 12th place at the Wentworth, Tvesa Malik to 11th place at the Swiss Ladies Open.

Kiradech, who dropped a late bogey on par-5 17th and failed to birdie on par-5 18th, took second place with Donaldson (66) and Canter (67). All three ended with 18 under) Horschel already has a world title in his luggage this season and this victory puts him in second place in the Race to Dubai rankings in partnership with Rolex.

He was the first American to win a Rolex Series event and only the second to win the BMW PGA Championship after the great Arnold Palmer in 1975, Francesco Laporta.

In the race for an automatic place in Padraig Harrington’s Ryder Cup team, a final 72 was enough to see Bernd Wiesberger defeat Shane Lowry and win Jon Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood, Tyrrell Hatton, Rory McIlroy, Viktor Hovland, Paul Casey, Matt Fitzpatrick and Lee Westwood as qualifiers.